Interface: Building a physical interface beyond keyboards & mouses

Cory Zhao
2 min readMar 5, 2021

Following last week’s project, we are asked to build out our sketch last week. Here’s what I planned out to do:

Since I imagine it would be fitting the fingers like a ring, I started looking for circular objects that I can manipulate. Since I have been in quarantine for the past two weeks, I really don't have many interesting materials to work with. So I decided to take a step back and make my interface a bit bigger than a ring so that it’s easier to build. I realized that I could just use a roll of double-sided tape as the base for my prototype.

To make the ring “scrollable” I’ll need to find an object that the tape roll can sit on. I realized that I can use the foam from one of the packages I ordered. So I measured and cut out a round-shaped foam and make sure it fits ok on my index finger. Then, for the “keys”, I cut out cubes of foam and stuck them to the tape. To create the ridges, I used strips of cardstock paper and folded them many many many many times to simulate the look and feel of ridges.

--

--